I Got The Habit! Your Daily Writing Habit ~ Tip #1

We’ve all been there; sitting with fingers hovering above the keyboard as we stare at a blank screen, wondering what to write. And we’ve all looked back at a week, or a month, of writing with frustration in our soul at the lack of content we have created. These things suck! But, one of the best things you can do is write everyday. Make it a habit. This concept is not new news, we’ve been told this by teachers, friends, and writing gurus from around the world. But if only it was that easy.

KIMG0433

I’ve got a few tips that have worked for me, maybe they will work for you too.

Tip #1 Pick a time. ┬áIt doesn’t matter if you are a late night keyboard banger or you enjoy chasing the worm at the crack of dawn. Pick a time and stick to it. Find a time that works for you, block it out from all distractions, and write. 1st drafts, revisions, character sketches, plot outlines, blog posts. It’s all fair game. I’m a morning person but I tend to workout in the morning and prepare for the business of the day. I am probably at my least creative before the sun comes up, so my daily writing takes place a few hours before I go to bed at night. I’ll deviate from that time once in a while and write in the morning, but I don’t recommend switching times until you’ve comfortably established a habit of writing every day.

Simple as that. And try tracking your progress as well. Just like any job, you want to be able to look back at your metrics and see what kind of progress you have made. So check yourself right now, and commit to a time to write every day for the next week. And please share your experiences with all of us too!

Until next time, and Tip #2…

~Write on

Leave a Reply

